Joint Schools Matriculation: 302 Matriculants

The University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital (UPTH) has to its credit five (5) Paramedical programmes to help with the training of professionals in areas of medical specialties.

The schools are; Community Health Officers Training, School of Post Basic Accident and Emergency Nursing, School of Social Development and Occupational Therapy, School of Health Information Management and the School of Post Basic Paediatric Nursing.

On the 2nd of July, 2021, the schools at its second matriculation ceremony had a total of 302 MATRICULANTS who have enrolled in either of the schools to obtain relevant certification.

The ceremony began with a procession of UPTH management team, coordinators and deans of the various schools. For this occasion, the Chief Medical Director (CMD) who doubles as the Chairman Joint Schools Board, Prof. Henry Ugboma was represented by the Chairman Medical Advisory Committee (CMAC), Prof. Lucky Onotai who in his welcome address appreciated special guests for gracing the occasion. He said, “The love for human capital development has been the driving force for the revolution we are witnessing today.”

He assured parents and guardians of students that their investments will indeed be rewarding. He announced the plans of an additional three training programmes for the hospital’s Post Basic nursing schools namely: Mental Health, Peri-Operative and lntensive Care.

The students were later presented for the administering of the matriculation oath. The oath was administered by the CMAC, Prof. Onotai. The different coordinators formerly presented their students for admission into the various programmes of certification.

The closing remarks and the vote of thanks was taken by Dr. Dasetima Altraide (DCMAC) Deputy Chairman Medical Advisory Committee (Due Process) and Dr. Mrs. O. N. Onya (DCMAC) Deputy Chairman Medical Advisory Committee (NHIS/Servicom).

The Coordinators for the different Schools are:

  • Dr. Kingsley Douglas – Community Health Officers Training Programme
  • Mrs. Edward Abiye- School of Post Basic Accident and Emergency Nursing.
  • Opusunju Cliffords – School of Social Development and Occupational Therapy.
  • Mrs. Joyce Wokem- School of Health Information Management.
  • Bura-Dinu, Sarah Sirah – School of Post Basic Paediatrics Nursing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s